Presidents of the Common Assembly, Parliamentary Assembly and the appointed Parliament

1953 to 2022

Portrait	President	State	Took office	Left office	Party	Group					
PRESIDENTS OF THE COMMON ASSEMBLY											
	Paul-Henri Spaak (1899–1972)	Belgium	11 Sep 1952 1 year, 2	11 May1954 242 days	PSB-BSP	Socialists					
PRESIDENTS OF THE PARLIAMENTARY ASSEMBLY											
	Walter Behrendt (1914–1997)	West Germany	9 Mar 1971 2 years	13 Mar 1973 , 4 days	SPD	Socialists					
	Georges Spénale (1913–1983)	France	11 Mar 1975 1 year, 3	8 Mar 1977 862 days	PS	Socialists					
PRESIDENTS OF THE APPOINTED PARLIAMENT											
	Piet Dankert (1934–2003)	Netherlands	19 Jan 1982 2 years,	24 Jul 1984 187 days	PvdA	Socialists					
	Enrique Barón Crespo (born 1944)	Spain	25 Jul 1989 2 years,	21 Jan 1992 180 days	PSOE	Socialists					

Klaus Hänsch (born 1938)	Germany	19 Jul 1994 2 years,	14 Jan 1997 186 days	SPD	Party of European Socialists
Josep Borrell (born 1947)	Spain	20 Jul 2004 2 years,	16 Jan 2007 180 days	PSOE	Party of European Socialists
Martin Schulz (born 1955)	Germany	17 Jan 2012 5 ye	17 Jan 2017 ears	SPD	Socialists & Democrats
David Sassoli (1956–2022)	Italy	3 Jul 2019 2 years,	11 Jan 2022 192 days	PD	Socialists & Democrats